Guided By Voices - Corpse Like Sleep of Stupidity (1992)

The second of GBV's aborted releases from 1992, The Corpse Like Sleep of Stupidity represents sort of a weird middle ground between Back to Saturn X and the album that would eventually be released from this era, 1992's Propeller. Where Propeller had a rather deliberate sequencing of big studio rock songs that gradually shifted over to lo-fi 4-track numbers as the album progressed, this album tends to jump back and forth which lends itself to a very scattered listening experience. Despite this the album somehow still manages to maintain a sense of continuity, which is not surprising knowing Bob's knack for sequencing albums. Many songs on this release have not been released officially, and many versions of songs are different than their later released counter parts.


decrepittapes said...

Dan C. said...

Thanks for all the rare GbV stuff. Do you have a tracklist for this one?

decrepittapes said...


1- #2 In The Model Home Series (instrumental)
2- Mr Japan
3- Some Drilling Implied (alt version)
4- Buzzards & Dreadful Crows (alt version)
5- Red Gas Circle
6- Damn Good Mr. Jam
7- Trash Canned Goods
8- Unleashed! Large Hearted Boy
9- Tractor Rape Chain (Clean It Up)
10- 14 Cheerleader Coldfront
11- My Big Day
12- Kisses To The Crying Cooks
13- Dusty Bushworms
14- Bottoms Up!
15- Melted Pat
16- Separation of Church & State
17- Particular Damaged
18- Good Old Mr. Expendable
19- Spring Tigers
20- Scalding Creek
21- Lethargy
23- Goldheart Mountaintop Queen Directory (alt version)

Novemberer said...

Trashed Canned Goods!

RĂșni said...

Hey, I like this a lot, thanks.

May I ask... does anybody know what the title refers to (since it is so great)? Any thoughts?